Calling San Diego Taxpayers: Oppose the “Jobs Tax”

The Libertarian Lass, Gayle Falkenthal The Libertarian Lass, Gayle Falkenthal

Share

The San Diego County Taxpayers calls upon San Diegans to voice their opposition to a proposal by the San Diego City Council to double the so called “linkage fee” charged to construction projects in the City of San Diego. This fee is yet another short-sighted job killer and SDCTA is strongly opposed to this increase.

The Council will also consider setting this fee on “auto-increase” going forward, a sneaky little maneuver which no longer requires a vote of your elected officials to increase this job-killing tax. This action may be taken despite a historic recession and without regard for the concerns voiced by business leaders that this would further hurt jobs creation and economic recovery in San Diego.

To ensure that your opposition is heard, take action today and contact the members of the San Diego City Council.  SDCTA is asking you to join its efforts to convince the Council to oppose this ill-conceived increase in what it sees as a jobs tax. Whether you are a voter, whether you work in the construction industry or an allied field, you will be negatively affected if this increase passes.

Please voice your opposition to ALL of the following elected officials TODAY:

Contact information for Mayor Sanders and San Diego City Councilmembers:

Mayor Jerry Sanders: (619) 236-6330 or jerrysanders@sandiego.gov
District 1: Councilmember Sherri Lightner: (619) 236-6611 or sherrilightner@sandiego.gov
District 2: Council President Pro Tem Kevin Faulconer: (619) 236-6622 or kevinfaulconer@sandiego.gov
District 3: Councilmember Todd Gloria: (619) 236-6633 or toddgloria@sandiego.gov
District 4: Council President Tony Young: (619) 236-6644 or anthonyyoung@sandiego.gov
District 5: Councilmember Carl DeMaio: (619) 236-6655 or carldemaio@sandiego.gov
District 6: Councilmember Lorie Zapf: (619) 236-6616 or loriezapf@sandiego.gov
District 7: Councilmember Marti Emerald: (619) 236-6677 or martiemerald@sandiego.gov
District 8: Councilmember David Alvarez: (619) 236-6688 or davidalvarez@sandiego.gov

A show of numbers in person at the City Council hearing is always a big plus. If you can make it, attend the City Council hearing scheduled for Monday, July 11 starting at 2:00pm at City Hall located at 202 C Street on the 12th Floor. The agenda is focused on this issue, so you should not wait long to voice your opposition to this proposed increase.

Disclaimer: The San Diego County Taxpayers Association is a client of my public relations firm, Falcon Valley Group.

Share